a stitch in lime

stumbling into creativity

Baby dress

16 Comments

Do you ever get so excited about something you’ve made that you want to run up to everyone you see and show it to them and go “LOOK!! I MADE THIS!  I LOVE IT.  DO YOU LOVE IT?  YOU SHOULD LOVE IT.” and then they get the shifty eyes and back away slowly from your rabid, foaming-at-the-mouth enthusiasm?  Well, tonight is one of those times for me. I decided to take a stab at the Pillowcase Baby Dress pattern from Prudent Baby, and it turned out so, so well!  I even managed to work in the white cotton trim and brown bias tape I got from the thrift store earlier today!  (Thrifty bonus points for me, also, for using some of this gorgeous remnant fabric I happened upon a few months back!)

I have no idea why I’m compelled to sew baby girl clothes, since we have a metric ton already (from hubby’s old coworker friend who so very graciously donated her stash to us after her daughter grew out of them). Let’s hope, for practical purposes alone, that we eventually do have a girl someday to wear all this great stuff!  That, or I’ll be gifting away these cute little numbers to pals with baby girls.

… Pssst!  I’m participating in:


16 thoughts on “Baby dress

  1. Sew Pretty. Sew Sweet.

  2. Cute baby dress! I like the green fabric.

  3. That dress is so beautiful. Someone had better have a girl!

  4. This is ridiculously adorable!!!
    I’d love it if you’d add this post to this week’s Sharing Time Link Up!
    http://heathernow.blogspot.com/2010/06/sharing-time_27.html
    Hope you have a great week :)
    ~Heather

  5. This is so so cute. I’m a new follower from Heather Lynne’s Raising Memories.

  6. That is adorable. Nice work!

  7. What did you use for the tie? It looks like the fabric and I am so clueless (and new to sewing) I am not sure how you did that!

    • I cut thin rectangular strips from the fabric, folding the edges in twice over and sewing it shut that way. So essentially I made (double-fold) bias tape that wasn’t cut on the bias. I hope that makes sense! I just didn’t have anything else hanging around that would have worked for ties, so I made do with a scrap of the same fabric.

  8. Pingback: Pillowcase dress for a new little friend « a stitch in lime

  9. Pingback: Triangle bunting « a stitch in lime

  10. That is the cutest pillowcase dress I’ve ever seen! Love the eyelet lace on the bottom!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers