a stitch in lime

stumbling into creativity

Things I covet: Clothesasaurus

2 Comments

When I first saw this post by Rachel at Smile and Wave, I thought to myself:  What in the heck is a tater box anyway?  Am I the only one who has never heard of such a thing?  Is it an American thing that we don’t have here in Canada?

No matter what its origin, a lick of paint is all it takes to turn a plain old wooden tater box into a pretty rad Clothesasaurus!

After

Before

Rachel made the Clothesasaurus to serve as a fun laundry hamper for her young son. I think it’s a great way to make doing laundry fun!  And you can practice tossing balled up socks into his mouth when he gets “hungry”!  My mom and I used to do that when I was a kid (into a much less exciting looking basket, mind you) and it’s one of my favourite memories.

I really need to find me a tater box…

2 thoughts on “Things I covet: Clothesasaurus

  1. It’s cute!
    The only thing I don’t like about it is that I think it’s too heavy for a laundry basket. And then you’d have to take the whole thing to the laundry room and dump it out and it might close on your fingers or you might bump it against the wall and chip/dent something.
    I think I’m over-analyzing this whole thing but I thought it was important enough to share. I share cause I care 😛

  2. Ah, good points! I think you’re right. But something like this would probably be really cool… maybe lighterweight? Plastic? Maybe more like a hamper monster.

Leave a Reply

