a stitch in lime

stumbling into creativity

In progress: lady sweater

2 Comments

In particular, this pattern is called the February Lady Sweater, by Pamela Wynne of Flint Knits. I love how her voice comes through in this pattern.  Some examples: “A swingy lace cardigan, made to fit a grown-ass woman”, “Finishing: block. Sew on buttons. Strut your stuff.”  I think if I were to ever venture to write a pattern I’d like it to be a sassy pattern.

So this is my first ‘big’ project, I’d say. An entire article of full-sized grown-up clothing (the shrug doesn’t count, since it was small small small). Part of me is annoyed by how long it’s taking (a single row takes about 10 minutes), but part of me is also really excited to see what the end product will look like.

Beginning of yoke

Nearly finished yoke (off needles for the purpose of trying it on to see if it the sizing was wildly wrong).

It’s so hard to tell what the finished size of something will be when you’re knitting on a circular needle… especially when you have a ton of stitches and it’s all bunched up and chaotic. You can’t just stretch out the garment-in-progress because it’ll pop off the two ends of the needle, so my solution was to take the time to get the needle out of the way entirely, and I carefully threaded some scrap yarn through all 260-odd stitches before yanking the needle out.  I’m glad I did, though, because I found out that the sizing was shaping up to be pretty okay!  The bunched up chaos on the needle was deceiving.  I thought for sure it’d be way too big, but it wasn’t at all.  So, hooray for that!

This one is gonna take me a bit longer to complete than my usual ‘woops-I-knitted-this-in-three-days’ projects, so stay tuned for updates!

2 thoughts on “In progress: lady sweater

  1. Pingback: Dub-dub-double knitting « a stitch in lime

  2. Pingback: Keep on keepin’ on « a stitch in lime

Leave a Reply

