a stitch in lime

stumbling into creativity

Keep on keepin’ on

7 Comments

After having recently emerged from the frenetic land of wedding planning, I found that my other knitting (my me knitting, my deadline free knitting) was once again calling my name from the messy shelf in my closet where it had been hibernating. So today I decided to reacquaint myself with my good old friend the lady sweater.  And after only knitting two rows in 30 minutes, it hit me (okay, it re-hit me) that this sucker is gonna take an AGE to finish.  I started it in mid-March and it’s only about halfway done. But I felt it deserved a progress report, since the lace part is all new since I lasted posted about it. So check me out!

It’s really too bad that, since a couple of other Thursday night commitments have come up in the past month or two, I haven’t been to my sister-in-law’s craft night in quite a while… so I’m missing out on these great 3+ hour chunks of time that would be otherwise devoted more or less entirely to knitting!  And thus, progress has really slowed down.  Oh, and there was that wedding, too.  Right.

But I suppose knitting is meant to be a bit of an exercise in patience, especially with larger projects like this one. I will try to remember that, and try to curb my impatience.  My next project(s) will probably be smaller scale, though, to satisfy my need for more immediate gratification.  (Cue the bug-eyed stares of a drug addict…)

7 thoughts on “Keep on keepin’ on

  1. Your lady sweater looks great! I think worth sticking with. 🙂

  2. LOVE it!!! Looks so lovely.

  3. Agreed, it looks fabulous. I can’t wait to see it when it’s done!

  4. The colour looks so pretty next to your skin….proowwww…

  5. Thanks everyone! 🙂

  6. Your FLS looks awesome so far! A lot of people think the important thing with knitting is skill, but as this project makes clear, what it mostly takes is patience…but oh man, the feeling of wearing a sweater that you knit, in yarn you chose and love, is sooo worth the hours of work!

    • Thanks, R! I finished the body now, and am feeling far more like finishing the entire thing is realistic 🙂 I can’t wait to wear it! I hope it turns out where I’m pumped to wear it! (It would be sad, if not.)

Leave a comment