a stitch in lime

stumbling into creativity

Tutorial: Framed fishnet earring display

1 Comment

This is one of those rare projects I came up with all by myself. Yes, that’s right, I fired up the old thinkin’ box and dusted off my sleepy imagination!  It was a day for the history books, as far as my crafting goes. I was deep within my earring-making phase a couple of years ago and decided I needed somewhere to keep them all that wasn’t (a) a tangled mess, or (b) to be kept in a drawer where I would forget I even owned earrings.  So this is what I came up with!

To make an earring display like this, you’ll need (per display):

  1. Fishnet stockings (I used a pair of knee-high ones)
  2. A picture frame (I’d guess a maximum width of about 5″ or 6″ would be best)
  3. A piece of felt or fabric that is larger than the frame
  4. Scissors
  5. Tape and/or thread (e.g., masking or duct tape) — optional

What to do: (Note: Sorry for not having any step-by-step pictures!  Since I made these ages ago, I didn’t document the process at all.)

  1. Open up the picture frame, removing the backing and the glass.
  2. Using the glass to measure, cut your felt or fabric into a rectangle that is about 2″ wider and 2″ longer than the piece of glass that came with the frame.
  3. From your fishnet stocking, cut a piece of the shin/leg part to be about an inch or two longer than the length of the glass. Cut crosswise across the leg of the stocking, but not lengthwise, so that you end up with a tube of fabric.
  4. Stretch your felt/fabric piece over the glass evenly, wrapping the edges around the back. Hold or tape in place. (You could even sew a sleeve of fabric to make this step easier — be creative with how you make it work… just keep it taut over the glass so there are no wrinkles or waves!)
  5. Pull the fishnet tube over the glass, pulling and holding all the excess fabric and fishnet around to the back of the glass (the side where all the fabric/felt edges are held or taped down).
  6. Secure the stretched fishnet by reinserting the glass into the frame with the right side facing out. Since you have a bit of fabric/fishnet around each edge, the glass should fit tightly into the frame, preventing the fishnet or felt/fabric from becoming loose. If you are having problems with slippage, try to secure the stretched material with tape, thread, or other methods.  This can be tricky!
  7. Once the front of your display is smooth and the materials are secured, reattach the backing of the picture frame. This may be tight with the excess material wrapped around the back of the glass. The backing may even bulge slightly when secured in place. If this bothers you, experiment with trimming some of the excess fabric (if you are fairly sure that trimming it wouldn’t lead to the whole thing coming apart). Alternatively, you can simply live with the slight bulging, since no one will be seeing the back of the frame anyway.
  8. Add your earrings, and admire your handiwork!

Note: adding this many earrings is nearly impossible and not recommended.

If you’re like me, you have far too many earrings to deal with… just look at this mess!  I swear, I only ever wear about 20% of these anyway!  I think the photo at the top of this post displays a much more respectable arrangement.  Or perhaps I just need to make another one?

One thought on “Tutorial: Framed fishnet earring display

  1. great idea..

Leave a Reply

