a stitch in lime

stumbling into creativity

Tutorial: Wooden EAT sign, Mod Podge style

6 Comments

I’ve been poking at this project for the last few days and it’s finally done!  This EAT sign was made for our dining room corner (it’s not its own room). As I posted about back when I was on a Mod Podge project admiring spree, I was inspired by Jen over at Frame Fanatic’s version.

I picked up these wooden letters from my local dollar store, and they were a bit more detailed than Jen’s. I decided to paint the edges (and backs) red and to apply some decorative scrapbook paper to the top-most plane. And that’s just what I did!  Read how I made this puppy after the jump!

Step 1. Gather supplies! Acrylic paint, glossy Mod Podge, paintbrush and/or spongebrush. (Also have scissors and decorative/coordinating scrapbook paper — not pictured. Sandpaper is also useful.)

Step 2. After sanding your letters (optional, and the need for this will depend on the quality of what you bought), paint around your edges, leaving only the top-most plane unpainted (it will get covered, so, no need to paint it). Do as many coats as you like. I did two.

Optional Step 3. Paint the back! Also two coats for me.

Step 4. On one of your last coats of paint, make sure you get a decent amount on the edges of the top plane.

Step 5. Stamp your letters onto the back of your scrapbook paper so you can see what shape to cut out!

Step 6. Cut ’em out.

Step 7. Brush the top plane of each letter with Mod Podge, and adhere the scrapbook letter pieces on. Push and flatten to avoid bubbles.

Step 8. Apply a coat of Mod Podge all over everything to seal all your hard work in for eternity.

Step 9. Hang ’em up!  (I don’t have any great suggestions as to how to do this step, since mine came with hefty staples lodged firmly in their backs, which I left in and used to hang them from… so maybe staple-gun them?  Drill a very shallow hole?  That part is yours to figure out, amigos.)

I think this project turned out great, and was pretty fun to make.  You could do this with any kind of sign, too.  A verb for every room in the house!

6 thoughts on “Tutorial: Wooden EAT sign, Mod Podge style

  1. So fancy, lady! I’m looking forward to seeing them.

  2. I love mod podge. What does the hub think of this?
    I’m thinking of clearing a little craft space for myself in the basement… *sigh*

  3. Awesome! I recently bought a letter (yep, just one) like these but was unsure of how to cut out the paper to modPodge onto it. Great tutorial!
    Thanks!

  4. Just dropping by to let you know that I linked to this post in a round up today from the Home & Garden channel at Craft Gossip. 🙂 You can see the feature here
    http://homeandgarden.craftgossip.com/9-eat-sign-projects/

    If you would like a “featured by” button, you can grab one here!
    http://homeandgarden.craftgossip.com/grab-a-craft-gossip-button/

  5. Pingback: 9 Eat Sign Projects · Home and Garden | CraftGossip.com

Leave a Reply

