a stitch in lime

stumbling into creativity

Things I covet: Map coasters

4 Comments

I’ve never really been a coaster user in the past. I think this is due to a combination of laziness and having only ever had cheap furniture around — the kind that wouldn’t have balked at the presence of a sweaty glass on its surface. But having recently purchased some new tables (of the coffee and dining varieties), I am now trying to be good and remember to use coasters. So when I stumbled across this idea from crafting giant Martha Stewart, I raised one or more eyebrows in its direction. It’s map coasters!

As it stands, the coasters we currently have are totally boring.  Just circles cut out of cork board. I think they could use a facelift, stat. But now it’s got me thinking… any kind of paper would do for this.  Do you have any ideas about something that would be good for a coaster topper?  Newsprint? Old book pages or illustrations?  Anatomy diagrams?

4 thoughts on “Things I covet: Map coasters

  1. Definitely a great idea!

  2. Love the maps! And you could make them of places you’ve been, or places you and Seamus want to go in the future! Newspaper would be cool too. Or black and white photos of funky architecture or cityscapes or something?!

  3. Been wanting to do a map project…. might follow your lead. Great project!

Leave a Reply

