a stitch in lime

stumbling into creativity

Sweater weather

3 Comments

Evidently working my way through Jane Richmond‘s entire catalogue of patterns, here is my latest finished piece — the Oatmeal Pullover. I began my venture by trying my best to find the beautiful yarn called for in the pattern (Lion Brand’s Wool-Ease Chunky in Wheat) but had a couple mishaps. First, I accidentally bought the right colourway in the wrong weight (super bulky instead of regular bulky), then after realizing my mistake, upon returning to the store, realized they didn’t carry the bulky weight version at all. So I settled on this yarn (Bernat’s Softee Chunky Twists in Grey Ragg). The girl who rang me through was like “why are you exchanging this?  The first one you bought is soooo much better!”… Way to rub it in!

Onto the knitting part. I knit up a gauge swatch and was way, way (I mean way) off. Read up on Ravelry that most other knitters had had the same problem and gotten gauge with a larger needle. Realized I didn’t have the larger sized needle. So I raced to the local yarn store after work and bought the right size. Went to craft night to begin my project and quickly discovered that one of the screws on my new interchangeable Knit Picks needles was stripped (to the point where it wouldn’t even tighten at all, so I couldn’t even fake it for the one night). Returned to the local yarn store the next day to exchange the needle. They didn’t have another nickel-plated 8mm in stock, so I bought the wood ones (more expensive, less to my tastes, but oh well — desperation was starting to set in). Finally began knitting the neck ribbing, then dropped a stitch, got turned around and totally messed it up. Unripped all of it. Started over. This was not a good start.

But fear not, for once I started over and got going on the endless stockinette stitch of the body, I was off to the races. And what short races they were!  I finished the body in just a few days!  People online weren’t lying when they said this sweater just flies off the needles (ah, the joys of big needles and chunky yarn).  And I’m loving how it turned out!

Ta da!  I’m gonna wear this puppy to work tomorrow for sure. I’ll be so warm at my desk!

3 thoughts on “Sweater weather

  1. Looks great! Keep up the good work hon 🙂

  2. I really like this color much better than the oatmeal. The sweater looks fantastic! You did a wonderful job.

  3. I lurve it. The colour looks really good on you too! I think it’ll make your eyes look crazy blue! Crazy!

Leave a Reply

