a stitch in lime

stumbling into creativity

Swifftastic!

2 Comments

I seem to be on a kick to eliminate all the disposable crap from our home. My latest adventure in doing so was also paired with my second ever foray into crochet!  (Points for rhyming!)

I had been long planning to sew some reusable Swiffer cloths (perhaps à la Viscidly or Sew Much Ado) to put a stop to the endless disposable refill buying. But then this kitschy number crossed my path via CraftZine and I was sold on giving it a try. Plus I had some acrylic yarn that had been nagging at me for a while, so I thought it was a match made in crafty heaven.

Also?  The ruffles?  Yes.

Here is the top of the ‘sock’

…and here is the dirty underbelly after a big sweep! (No judging. We have a cat.)

It turned out pretty brilliantly, and I can even attest to the fact that it made it through the wash without incident.

Did I mention this is also reversible?  If you flip the ruffled side inwards, the alternative is a much smoother (simple double crochet) surface for doing damp wipe-ups. But I never use our Swiffer for damn wipe-ups, so… I doubt that’ll get used. But I did enjoy the challenge of sorting out which side was which while I made this thing!  Crocheting two different things into two different sides of the same stitch can be confusing for a newb. Actually, in the end it was way easy, once I got the hang of it.

2 thoughts on “Swifftastic!

  1. gawd jana! why you gotta go and show me up at my own sport! 😛 that’s impressive!

  2. That is so totally cool! I love what you’re doing 🙂

Leave a Reply

