a stitch in lime

stumbling into creativity

Lazy knitter’s greenish round-up

4 Comments

How long ago was St. Patrick’s Day? This would have been a good post for that day, I tellya. Everything is green(ish)!

I’ve been a lazy knitter lately, and an even lazier blogger. So this post is an accumulation of the last three projects I’ve (slowly) finished off, and don’t they all go together kind of well? That was a happy coincidence.

First up: yet another soaker using the Punk Knitters pattern. This one was done in the newborn size (the others I’ve made have been small). Not a whole lot of news to report there.

Next: in an exciting twist, I made a whole different kind of soaker. This one was the Curly Purly Soaker pattern (free pdf download). I knitted this one up with some beautifully soft 100purewool, and it isn’t even the tiniest bit scratchy despite being 100% wool. I love it!  Also I got to learn how to make that pleated waistband. Neat, right?

Lastly, I knit up an Apple Hat in the remainder of the supercool variegated yarn I had left from making the tiniest booties in the world. I find myself in need of a balloon or something else sufficiently round and small on which to model baby hats, as I couldn’t for the life of me get a good picture of this thing. It was either totally squashed…

Or pitifully and poorly rounded-out on my hand!  Honestly. I searched and searched my house for something to use but everything looked so awful and misshapen since the hat was quite stretchy!  So you’ll just have to use your imagination.

My next knitting project is going to be a gift for a surprise package I’m sending to a fellow preggie down in the US. Stay tuned!

4 thoughts on “Lazy knitter’s greenish round-up

  1. oooooh! That little apple hat is so super cute!

  2. Somehow I really like the way the super plain leg holes look on the Punk Knitters soaker. Wonder if they will be as useful as ones with ribbed legs…do keep us (me) posted! I love the pleated waist on the Curly Purly…it’s in my queue but I didn’t notice that detail, so thanks for pointing it out!

    I have been known to photograph baby hats on stuffed animals, if you have any of those around. You could always give Skoshi a try too…

    • Yeah I wonder about the leg holes too! I will definitely post some reviews after we’ve got a real live baby to experiment with.

      I tried a teddy bear but his ears were too prominent and they stretched out the hat pretty badly. Le sigh! And Skoshi always makes grumpy faces whenever we put anything on her… damn her!

Leave a Reply

