a stitch in lime

stumbling into creativity

Pumpkin head

6 Comments

My husband rarely gets terribly worked up over my knitting. Don’t get me wrong, he’s very supportive and usually pretty impressed with whatever recently finished-off project I’m waving at him from across the room, but I usually just get a “that looks great!” and we leave it at that. I have to say he definitely took a double (or triple) take at this baby pumpkin hat, though. He declared it to be Pretty Frigging Cute and had a bit of a twinkle in his eye picturing our roughly-3-month-old future baby wearing this around Halloween this year. And I have to agree with him. It makes me feel the squishy feelings a bit.

The pattern I used was the Kürbis baby hat. Yarn was Patons Canadiana. My only gripe with this project was that I chose to knit it using sock-length (read: super short) double-pointed needles that were wooden and grabbed at the yarn too much. So it was kind of a painful experience for my hands, forcing the yarn around the needles endlessly. But that’s my own fault for buying them! Or knitting so tightly. Either way, lesson learned, self.

6 thoughts on “Pumpkin head

  1. That is so sweet! I can’t wait to see your little pumpkin!

  2. Yes! Future pumpkin baby!

  3. It turned out really nice! 😀

  4. where does the baby’s face go?

    PS
    CUTE!!

  5. this hat is absolutely adorable!! my son got one pretty much identical down to the color tones from the hospital when he was born oct.30 about 8 years ago now. its still one of my favs. you did great! cheers

Leave a Reply

