a stitch in lime

stumbling into creativity

Tutorial: Reusable produce bags

9 Comments

Here’s a project I’ve been meaning to do for ages. I think I was putting it off because it was so simple that it somehow kept getting p pushed aside by other (perhaps more exciting?) projects. Anyway, today I thought “aw c’mon already, I’m just gonna do this.” And I did!

Reusable produce bags! Say goodbye to excess plastic and/or putting your loose and annoyingly spherical produce on the gross conveyor belt.

Here’s how I made them. (This is really so easy that it barely requires an explanation…)

Step 1. Cut out a rectangle of mesh or tulle. Note: Thinking of ironing out the wrinkles? Don’t go there.

Step 2. Fold the rectangle in half and serge (or sew) the bottom and/or side seams so you have a single opening at the top of your bag. Turn it right-side out.

Step 3. Fold the top edge inward and sew it down to form a casing for the string/cord. (But wait!  See the next photo first…)

Make sure to leave a small gap somewhere along the way (I suggest the side seam) where you can insert the string/cord.

Step 4. Cut a piece of string/cord (I suggest something lightweight) that is just a couple inches longer than twice the width of your bag. Feed it through the casing using a safety pin. Knotting the string is a good idea if it’s splitty.

Step 5. When you get both ends out, tie them together in a knot somewhere near the end.

Your bag should look something like this now.

When cinched, it should look like this!

Step 6. Insert produce and admire  your handiwork.

I made a couple more bags out of white tulle that I had leftover from making a friend a novelty veil for her bachelorette party.

Ta da!

No word yet on how durable these puppies are. I will provide an update in the future once I’ve used them a few times.

9 thoughts on “Tutorial: Reusable produce bags

  1. Nice!

    PS
    (I need the tutorial)

  2. neat!! that would make such a great christmas present (HINT HINT XOXO)

  3. Pingback: Como eu fiz a sacola da minha bicicleta dobrável «

  4. Where did you get the mesh material for this?!

  5. How durable are these? Mesh or tulle better then the other?

    • To be honest, ours have not gotten a ton of use and have gone missing so I’m not sure what to recommend. I think the tulle was a bit stronger feeling, though. I would recommend extra/reinforced stitches to ensure its sewn together well for the drawstring part, though (because the drawstring tends to bear weight and pull at the fabric).

      • Thank you for getting back to me! I thought the tulle would be better. I will be sure to reinforce. Thanks so much!

Leave a Reply

