a stitch in lime

stumbling into creativity

Tutorial: Peppermint Christmas bath salts

2 Comments

Merry Christmas eve, friends!

I’m going to spoil the Christmas morning surprise for some of my giftees, but hopefully they aren’t up late on Christmas eve reading my blog. The appropriate Christmas eve activity is obviously drinking heavily waiting for Santa. Duh.

This year I decided to make some homemade bath salts for some of the gals in my family. And I have good news to share: it’s dead easy. Here’s how I did it:

Step 1. Assemble supplies: epsom salts, red and green food colouring, peppermint essential oil, dorky Christmas-themed containers.

Step 2. Divide epsom salts into bowls (in this picture I would guess there’s about a cup in each bowl). Mix several drops of each food colouring into the epsom salts. There is no formula for this. Just add more drops and mix around until you like the colour. Also mix in a few (approx. 4) drops of peppermint essential oil. The stuff is strong so don’t go overboard.

Step 3. Layer salts in alternating colours into your container. Bonk the bottom of the container on the countertop to get the salts to settle evenly. Don’t shake them around too much or the colours will mix. Layer the salts as close to the top as you can to avoid shifting the stripes if the container gets put on its side/shaken a bit in transit to the giftee.

Step 4. Put the lids back on your containers and give them to your lucky giftees!

I can’t wait to try mine out (I had some salts left over). I already put them next to my bath so I can soon bathe in the wonder of Christmas. I wonder if I’ll end up smelling like a candy cane afterwards?

I think these make great gifts. They’re simple, inexpensive, quick, very Christmassy (my whole kitchen smells minty now), and a nice way to pamper your loved ones. The epsom salts have muscle-relaxing properties and the peppermint is a calming smell. Deluxe.

2 thoughts on “Tutorial: Peppermint Christmas bath salts

  1. Those are a great idea. “bonk” is a totes technical term, right?

Leave a Reply

