a stitch in lime

stumbling into creativity

The come-back post, featuring play-dough

1 Comment

Play-dough

Aaaayynd we’re baaaaaayck!

I never left, really. Just the posts did. I got a grown-up career job, and while it’s part-time, it is somehow consuming all my time and energy. So! That all makes for lousy bloggerly dedication in a hurry. Because my only moments of free time now are spent with a bag of kettle corn in my lap watching old episodes of The Simpsons. That’s the amount mental energy I’ve got left, chicken.

But the good news is, it’s almost Christmas which means that cultural and social forces are motivating me to get a bloody crafty move-on! At last! Despite my lack of time, I am forcing myself to put my report-writing work away in the evenings and make some shit. Last night I made play-dough for Baby A, who really should now be more appropriately named Toddler A. Here’s how it turned out:

Play-dough

I made it using this no-cook recipe (there are many out there on the webs) after we saw it made that way at a local baby group and it turned out perfectly playdoughy before my very own eyes. Plus it looked easy and I basically had all the stuff anyway. (‘Cept that dang white flour, which I had to pick up from the store last night and ended up covering myself in said dang white flour, as is inevitable when handling a bag of flour. What’s with that, anyway? Surely we as a civilization possess the technology necessary to produce a sealed flour bag.)

Play-dough

I split the batch into four equal sized heaps and then coloured each bit separately so my son would have a few colours to play with. I used 15 drops of food colouring (red, blue, yellow, and green) for each ball, and the colours are pretty vibrant. I made sure to wear rubber gloves when working the first bit of the food colouring in. Once it was more well-dispersed I ditched the gloves because they were annoying and sweaty.

This was really easy to make. The hardest part was kneading the colour in, but once I gave my hands a break and just smashed it and smooshed it into the counter over and over again, even that part was easy.

So! You should make this, too! Or whatever else you want to make. What are  you making for Christmas gifts this year, anyway?

One thought on “The come-back post, featuring play-dough

  1. Hola! I’ve been following your website for a long time now and finally got the bravery to go ahead and give you a shout out from New Caney Texas! Just wanted to say keep up the great work!

Leave a Reply

